Omnipresence

The first Psalm from today’s Evening Prayer is taken from one of my favorite Psalms:

Psalm 139:1-18 (ICEL)

Antiphon: Lord, how wonderful is your wisdom, so far beyond my understanding.

O Lord, you search me and you know me,
you know my resting and my rising,
you discern my purpose from afar.
You mark when I walk or lie down,
all my ways lie open to you.

Before ever a word is on my tongue
you know it, O Lord, through and through.
Behind and before you besiege me,
your hand ever laid upon me.
Too wonderful for me, this knowledge,
too high, beyond my reach.

O where can I go from your spirit,
or where can I flee from your face?
If I climb the heavens, you are there.
If I lie in the grave, you are there.

If I take the wings of the dawn
and dwell at the sea’s furthest end,
even there your hand would lead me,
your right hand would hold me fast.

If I say: “Let the darkness hide me
and the light around me be night,”
even darkness is not dark for you
and the night is as clear as day.

Antiphon: Lord, how wonderful is your wisdom, so far beyond my understanding.

2 Responses to “Omnipresence”


  1. 1 Ken Temple November 13, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    Mark,
    Thanks for your very reasonable and fair interaction with Dave Armstrong. You are not a confused Catholic; you are a clear thinking one. Thanks for pointing out where Dave A. is wrong in his thinking.

    Dave A. banned me from his site, (and he also deleted my recent comments, thanking you); so I wanted to let you know here.

    I also cited you over at Randy’s blog, another RC who comes to Dave’s site also. (in the com boxes)

    http://purifyyourbride.stblogs.com/

    You hit the nail on the head on this issue.
    Sincerely,
    Ken Temple

  2. 2 Mark November 13, 2008 at 10:53 pm

    Ha! He deleted your comment that thanked me. Well, I guess that’s what happens when you are banned :)

    Well, thanks for letting me know, and thank you for your kind words.

    I wonder if he’s ever banned a Catholic from his blog. I think I’ve annoyed him enough, that I might be the first! :)


Leave a Reply

Blog Hit Counter

  • 103,272 hits
Liturgy of the Hours

