Sweet Surrender

Continuing the tradition of posting my favorite poems from the latest issue of Dappled Things, here is one I particularly enjoyed from Amanda Griswold:

Gadarene

He did not get my soul without a fight,
But foaming, seething, reeling in my brain,
I bowed to darkness and emerged in light.

My mind was scorched by shadows grown too bright.
The demon smoldered and I roared in pain.
He did not get my soul without a fight.

I caught his throat and squeezed with all my might,
Then found it was my own. He wrenched my chain.
I bowed to darkness and emerged in light.

For years the fever blazed all day and night.
My melted mind picked up the false refrain:
He did not get my soul without a fight.

I wandered without memory or sight,
Through bloodshot moons and scalding desert rain,
I bowed to darkness and emerged in light.

Why should the God-son abdicate his height?
I shied from love too perfect to contain.
He did not get my soul without a fight.
I bowed to darkness and emerged in light.

From Dappled Things – Amanda Griswold is a college student at Grove City College and plans to graduate in 2009.

2 Responses to “Sweet Surrender”


  1. 1 Amanda November 29, 2008 at 3:02 am

    Wow, I was surprised to stumble across my own poem online. I’m glad you enjoyed my vilanelle. Thank you especially for including the proper accreditation.

    God Bless,
    Amanda M. Griswold

  2. 2 Mark November 29, 2008 at 9:36 am

    Amanda,

    I’m glad you stopped by and “stumbled” across your own poem. And don’t be too surprised; you are published online over at Dappled Things, after all :) … not to mention the print version, which is where I read your poem.

    I really did enjoy your poem, and, in fact, I would award your poem the best of the last issue. I usually enjoy quite a few of the poems published in Dappled Things, but this go ’round, yours was the only one that really stood out to me.

    Oh, well. Here’s to many more successful publishings of your work, if that is indeed what you want to do. Good luck in school, and Happy Advent!

    Mark


Leave a Reply

Blog Hit Counter

  • 103,676 hits
Liturgy of the Hours

